Home

The One. Soho Theatre. Four stars

March 12, 2014

I love the Soho Theatre. Steeply raked. Small. Intimate. Perfect for this play.

I hadn’t done any background research on The One. Hubby booked it and I turned up not really knowing what to expect. And bang. It opens with sex in front of the TV. And sex continues to be a driving theme throughout as we sit up all night with Harry  and Jo  (English lecturer and his former student) as they wait for news of her sister giving birth. They are clever, well spoken, and compete for control using any tactics (lying, taunting, goading, insulting, hurting). They have a toxic passion for  and against each other.

The arrival of Harry’s vulnerable ex Kerry momentarily displays their unity as they allow her to stand outside in the pouring rain before deciding to let her in. Harry appears to side with Kerry during Jo’s casual indifference and venom towards her and the startling discussions they have concerning when sex is rape between a couple. As my mother would have said, Jo is too clever by half and so sharp she’ll cut herself. And she does.She cuts anything that comes anywhere near her. And Harry is drawn to it like a moth to a flame.

The 65 minutes flew by. I was gripped. It made me laugh. It made me uncomfortable. It made me think..  That’s what I want from theatre. Four stars

No need to fill in your details - just let me know what you think

