Home

Looking forward

January 1, 2014

Well, it’s the first day of 2014 and half of it has gone already before I’ve even really got going. May be something to do with being up till 3 seeing the New Year in. That should be a resolution for a start – not to be out so late – but in fact my resolve favours the opposite.

Do more. Do it better. Do it longer. Do it more often.

I have heard some people our age discussing their increasing reticence to go out. To wish just to stay in and comfortable on their squishy settees. That as they get older they find it harder to recover and so the price to be paid for a night out becomes too great as it ruins the next day and exhausts them. I fear it is a vicious circle. That if you start doing less you start wanting to do less. And then when you do go out it is a shock to the system. I’m not saying that a night in in front of the TV is not enjoyable. Anyone who knows me will know I can watch the shittest of trite programmes (The Paradise anyone?) and love it. But I also know and fear that left to my own devices I could easily just sit there, glued day in day out. Thus the resolution is to keep a hard course steering away from that and get out and in to the real world. With real people.

I want to meet friends and do stuff, any stuff. Walk. Talk. Laugh.Have coffee. Discover a new pub.  See more shows. Take in some galleries.Get to know new people. Enjoy our family. 

Because just like with physical and mental fitness it is a case of ‘use it or lose it’.  I want to keep doing, keep going, keep experiencing new things. Even if I don’t enjoy them all. Even if I see some shit shows,  or feel knackered afterwards.  I’m not looking for a continual comfort zone. I’m looking for life.

2 Responses to “Looking forward”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    Woo hoo with wine glass in hand preferably.


No need to fill in your details - just let me know what you think

