Home

Central and Co. Four stars

November 9, 2013

Newish bar/restaurant with that urban industrial chic decor going on –  lighting courtesy of overblown bulbs on long coloured flexes , staff courtesy of Australia and their relaxed and intelligent service giving it a city vibe that I’ll happily revisit. It’s virtually opposite Liberty’s so a good place to retire to when you want to exit the madding crowds near Oxford Circus.

The background music and chatter make it not the easiest place to hear your fellow diners, but not so loud that you can’t. And the food was very tasty. I had a blue cheese and onion tart with salad and my friend had burger and chips. Both were given thumbs up (and I can also vouch for some of her fat fluffy chips). She’d just returned from the States so having her positive view on the burger must be good. Then chocolate and beetroot Brownie with ice cream which was an enormous portion and actually did taste of beetroot. In a slightly odd way. The only time I’ve had chocolate and beetroot cake before I couldn’t taste the beetroot but it was a damn fine  and moist cake.

As one friend was near leaving to get back to the nether regions of suburbia, another friend arrived so I ordered more wine and stayed chatting for another couple of hours. Black cab home saw me hauled backwards at a rate of knots as I accidentally caught my coat in the door and tried to walk off. Luckily he hadn’t set off in the opposite direction or I would have found myself face down in the gutter. Which is probably where I belonged now I think about it.

2 Responses to “Central and Co. Four stars”

  1. Lorna Says:

    Is this by any chance on Youtube?


No need to fill in your details - just let me know what you think

