Home

Josephine and I. Five Stars.

July 31, 2013

The Bush theatre has done it again. Got me on my feet giving a standing O.  This time for a tour de force called Cush Jumbo who has written and performs a marvellous piece based on Josephine Baker the black American dancer but cleverly intertwined with what appears to be her own life.

I would watch Cush Jumbo in anything after this. She is beautiful, magnetic, mesmerising, likeable and able to transport us to Josephine’s childhood home of St Louis, through New York, on tour, to Paris and back to the States whilst playing every character. She switches accents, becomes drawling men and transmogrifies in an instant. And through it all she weaves the present day as we are appalled at the racisim she suffers as Josephine and even as her modern self.

The Bush is transformed in to a nightclub for this performance so if you are lucky enough to have tickets, take your drink in early and bag a great seat. I sat through the 100 minutes without taking my eyes off her. I’m not sure I even drew breath. Loved it. Five stars.

2 Responses to “Josephine and I. Five Stars.”

  1. Theresa Says:

    I would give your review 5 stars she was absolutely amazing.I want her to be my friend, we were in the presence of greatness i could watch it all over again


No need to fill in your details - just let me know what you think

