Home

Introducing friends to the parents

December 7, 2012

I have already posted various times about my parents and childhood. We were very lucky – stable family life,parents  working, educated and healthy. What I didn’t really realise until I left home, was this was not the norm for everyone. I kind of assumed everyone had parents with views and attitudes similar to mine. Stupid and niaive view of course, and did not square with the evidence in front of me when a child would turn up filthy and neglected in school. But I just didn’t make the connections.

As young children we rarely went in to the homes of others. We might play together after school in the park or garden, but head home for tea. It wasn’t really until I brought friends round as a teenager that they would get to meet my parents and they would say how great they were. My Mum would cook stuff and we’d learn dance routines in the sitting room. (Remember Tiger Feet?) Or I’d bring the boyfriend home and Mum would ask questions and make him feel welcome. So much so that some of my boyfriends continued to visit my mum after we’d finished going out……..

Then one day I decided on the spur of the moment to bring round the man who would become my first husband (TTTT –  see post https://sarahspoutsoff.wordpress.com/2012/08/20/and-how-did-you-meet-your-husband/ ). We had been up North visiting his parents, so on the drive back to London it seemed only a short detour to Mid Wales.

It was a sunny Monday afternoon, about 6 o’clock.  This would be the first time my parents would meet the boyfriend and vice versa. We pulled up the short driveway to the bungalow which sat in the middle of a lawn and conifers  which shielded the house and garden from the road. Not that there was any traffic. As we pulled up, with husband-to-be driving, I looked across the front lawn.

And saw my parents.

Caught in flagrante and now rushing to re-clothe and do up buttons at the sound of the car.

I was mortified and tried to stall TTTT from getting out of the car, hoping against hope he hadn’t noticed anything. We got out of the car and I waved cheerily to my parents as if nothing had happened, They were now strolling towards us gin and tonics in hand.  “Bloody hell,” said my father, “What a surprise. We weren’t expecting you.”

“I could see that.” I replied.

File0057

No need to fill in your details - just let me know what you think

