Home

And how did you meet your husband?

August 20, 2012

I always love that question. Because the answer usually stops people in their tracks.

“He was the best man at my first wedding”. Firstly, most people are somewhat embarrassed to have brought it up, they don’t know what to say in the immediate aftermath. Then they have lots of questions but don’t want to be rude. Then they get over the bit about not wanting to be rude and ask away. And no, my first husband and I didn’t have any children together.

Of course the answer is technically true, but not actually accurate as I had met him before my initial, disastrous sham of a marriage. But it brings the house down and one does like to make an impact.

In fact I met him the day after I had got off with my first-husband-to-be. I was still a student and this guy was working and had a car. I was easily impressed. And he said he wanted me to meet his friends from Uni, so we set off. The way he talked about them I assumed they were going to be a couple of mates. Blokes. But they weren’t. They were a well established couple living in a flat in Sawbridgeworth. The man who-would-become-my-husband-once -the-first-one-had-got-out-of-the-way was in his slippers having been trimming his bush in the front garden. A scene so far from my student life I found it hard to believe these people were only a year older than me. But I liked him straight away. He was bright, clever, opinionated and funny.

I had whooping cough at the time as was doing paediatrics and had caught it from one of the children on the ward. I had been vaccinated as a child but vaccinations are not always 100% for life, and so I caught  whooping cough but felt remarkably well. Just sounded absolutely incredible. I would have  the classic coughing fit and then the huge ‘Whoop’ would resonate as I struggled to draw breath in as quickly as possible after my paroxysm (technical term for the bout of coughing).

And he gave me no sympathy whatsoever. No concern. Thought it was amusing and attention seeking. Which I liked. He did go on to berate the medical profession in its entirety for not being scientists, thinking they are God’s gift and the like, but I put that down to the sour grapes of a non-medically qualified research scientist 🙂

Over the next 5 years or so we spent much of our free time as a foursome. Me with my first-husband-to-be and he with his longstanding lovely girlfriend. People used to joke that we were better suited to each other than our current partners – and we did get on really well. But I went ahead and married The Two Timing Twat, oblivious to his obvious unsuitability.

Wedding day number one. MISTAKE  but a great best man!

Even on my wedding day the best man looked after me much better than the groom. Who was more interested in the football scores. (Blackburn drew with Brighton if I remember correctly. Not happy.) Best man fed me rum and cokes and talked to guests and ensured my parents had a drink.We continued to see each other as a foursome.  Lots of holidays together. Lots of weekends together. Lots of good times together.

Until TTTT left me. And I became single again. And turned to drink trebles or champagne and eat crisps and greek yoghurt. I was devastated. But thin. And eventually started getting back in the saddle which was a journey in itself.

Then the doorbell went and apparently I opened it with nothing on but an open dressing gown and a Pimms in my hand. It was late afternoon on a Saturday and my new lodger had  arrived. It was the man-who-would-become-my-second-husband.

The rest, as they say, is history.

2 Responses to “And how did you meet your husband?”


  1. […] was still technically married to someone else (TTT although he’d left months before) when I collapsed and had to be rushed to hospital for an […]


  2. […] the spur of the moment to bring round the man who would become my first husband (TTTT –  see post https://sarahspoutsoff.wordpress.com/2012/08/20/and-how-did-you-meet-your-husband/ ). We had been up North visiting his parents, so on the drive back to London it seemed only a […]


No need to fill in your details - just let me know what you think

