Home

Childhood food

August 2, 2012

Avoiding Olympic traffic I am working from home today.  Unlike many, I am incredibly industrious when working from home. Focussed, productive and happy. When I first started doing it I found it incredibly hard not to put the washing on, pop to Sainsbury’s, change the sheets etc. Now I have absolutely no inklings to do that. Except occasionally I might stretch my legs and empty the tumble drier.

can I have some more?

So I’ve just made my lunch and brought it back to eat al desco, and it reminded me of food I had as a child as it’s grilled tomatoes on toast. I love tomatoes – especially if they’ve not been kept in the fridge. The best ones I ever had were grown by hubby years ago. Gardener’s delight I think they were called. Just fantastic. But I digress. Childhood food. Tomatoes on toast was a staple. As is my wont I had taken agin baked beans, steadfastly declaring I hated them. And broad beans too. The reason for this was in fact that my sister adored broad beans so I decided to hate them. Having never ever tried them. I can distinctly remember my mother saying “You’ve never even tried them!” in an exasperated tone, and me flatly denying it. “I have and I don’t like them”. Aged about five I think. And the baked beans were just an extension of that. Again, never tried but hey they looked a bit like small broad beans in a sauce. And my sister liked them. So the point of all that was when my sister had baked beans on toast, I had to have something different. So I would have tomatoes or spaghetti hoops. Another thing I haven’t had for ages but used to adore.

At primary school we had school dinners –  disgusting in Scotland – cooked elsewhere and delivered in huge silver urns to the kitchens. My memry is of sitting opposite Kenny who used to eat with his mouth open and I would get transfixed watching his mashed potato go round and round and round. And Mr Cameron the Head would stroll through the dining hall stroking his taw (the pronged leather lash used for whipping hands). And suddenly he’d pull one of the boys out and get them to stand in front of everyone and punish them publicly. Usually for spitting in each other’s food or talking. I was terrified of him. Then in Wales the food was much better – cooked on the premises and only about 70 children in the school.  So it meant that we had a big meal at lunch time and therefore tea would often be something on toast. Mmmm poached eggs.

The rest of the time we ate fairly standard British food – roasts, cottage pies, chops, sausage and mash, liver and onions (loved the gravy, not the liver so much), corned beef and chips (made by father on Saturday lunchtimes) , egg and chips (my favourite meal of all time), bubble and squeak, macaroni cheese, home made meat pies and of course puddings a go-go; pies, crumbles, suet puddings, bread and butter pudding, peach slices with carnation milk, pineapple fritters,….

As we moved in to the Seventies we would have an occasional spag bol or lasagne – and even more exotic – stuffed green peppers. You can’t imagine how adverturous it was to have peppers. And you could only get green, no red or yellow. Father had spent time in Sri lanka during the war so mum would occasionally make a curry. For some reason always with a hard boiled egg in them, and dessicated coconut on the side.

And of course there were always stacks of home made cakes, scones and biscuits to keep us going, or cream crackers with golden syrup, french toast, masked banana with sugar and cream………..

So very little was processed or pre-prepared.  Groceries would be delivered having left your list in the shop and  in Scotland the bread van came round and left warm breakfast rolls outside the door at 6am every day. Ahh nostalgia. Doncha just love it.

Didn’t get this body avoiding pies and chips

4 Responses to “Childhood food”

  1. michael Says:

    “Mr Cameron the Head would stroll through the dining hall stroking his taw (the pronged leather lash used for whipping hands). And suddenly he’d pull one of the boys out and get them to stand in front of everyone and punish them publicly. Usually for spitting in each other’s food or talking. I was terrified of him.”

    “Usually for spitting in each other’s food”

    Good thing you got out of Scotland early!

  2. Terri Says:

    Fast processed food then was Butterscotch Angel Deliight. Yum.


No need to fill in your details - just let me know what you think

