Home

Just another summer job

June 21, 2012

I have mentioned before that during the summer of 79 I worked in a pub in central London in the evenings. It was a busy pub, full mostly of men after work. One day the manager asked if I could help him out on a Tuesday lunchtime and run the bar upstairs. I worked in a photocopying shop during the day, but was able to wangle a two hour lunch break  as I had been promoted to manager so was organising my own time. I hadn’t even realised there was a bar upstairs, as I don’t think it was used in the evenings. Anyway, I agreed. Didn’t really think anything of it.

I turned up and went upstairs to the bar. The room had a small stage at one end and rows of chairs for an audience of perhaps one hundred. The bar was at the side and relatively small. There were a few people already in the front row when I arrived at 12, but apart form that it was empty. Gradually over the next half hour or so it started filling up and I served the men their pints. Nobody was drinking anything else. Then I saw a couple of women go in to the ladies which was just at the end of the bar. They looked like working women if you get my drift. The lights dimmed and the bar area cleared as the men took their seats. There were no more than thirty punters in altogether. I suddenly realised this was going to be a strip show.

The women came out of the toilets barely dressed and carrying a huge boom box. I remember thinking they were doing themselves out of a few minutes titillation by already being half naked. They pluggesd in the boom box, inserted a cassette (those were the days) and the music began.  One stood at the back of the stage near the boom box whilst the other started gyrating to the music. I suppose it was early pole dancing without the pole. Within moments I realised the audience were showing their enjoyment in a particularly male way. I saw that everyone was seated separately, and busy pleasuring themselves whilst they watched the woman tease them.

“Pint of bitter and a Teachers please love”. Two old lags were at the bar. Seen it all before, not bothered. Or perhaps they were the womens’ minders. I found it hard to tear my eyes away from the action I admit.

The music stopped and there was a break for the men to refill their glasses. I was very reluctant to handle their money knowing what they had been doing, Sticky fingers agogo but my bar tending instincts took over.

The music restarted and they took their seats. I washed my hands. It didn’t occur to me what was about to happen until it was too late.  The woman who had been operating the music called an audience member (excuse the pun) up to to the stage and before my very eyes they were having sex on the stage. Full on, no holds barred, no protection. I just couldn’t believe it.   She was standing up, bent over and he was ramming her from behind. The audience were frantic in their involvement.

The other woman walked down in to the audience and helped a number of men get the most out of the act. She used every tool avaialbale to her, but spent probably no more than 15 – 30 seconds with each. There was no need.

After coming to its natural conclusion the men sloped off, the women got dressed in the loo and I cleared up the bar. I walked downstairs still dazed and fazed by what I’d just witnessed. Only  to hear Michael Jackson imploring “Don’t stop till you get enough”. If ever there were an appropriate soundtrack to my day it was that.

8 Responses to “Just another summer job”

  1. Janet Says:

    YUk! Could’ve been worse..who had to clean the floor?

  2. Lorna Kyle Says:

    I was eating my porridge when I read this. I had to throw it away….

  3. georgiemcclarke Says:

    Jeeeesus what a story!!! Haha. Loving the new addition to the tagline, though you’ve missed out an “is”! x


  4. And that was at lunch time!


No need to fill in your details - just let me know what you think

