Home

Lifting the heart

May 6, 2012

Lots of times I feel my faith restored in human nature or my heart sing with the joy of a simple pleasure. Before I actually vomit in to the keyboard I’d like to make clear this in no way means I have gone soft in the head and started to like meaningless inspiartional sayings from Leonard Nimoy or Patience Strong or the like. I haven’t got over my husband posting a greeting on FB from his Cyprus office:

Richard Clarke

Just been sent this message – rather good I thought. Today we have bigger houses but smaller families, more conveniences but less time, more knowledge but less judgement. We spend more but have less, we buy more but enjoy it less. We plan more but accomplish less. We have learned to rush but not to wait. We are long on quantity but low on quality. In 2012, reverse the paradox of today. Talk more and text less, read more books and watch less TV. Treat every day like it’s a special occasion. Have an active, dynamic and exciting New Year! A year filled with optimism, positive energy and personal achievements
BEST WISHES FOR 2012!!
30 December 2011 at 12:19 Sarah ClarkePlease tell me you are taking the piss and have not started going soft in the head and thinking this trite shite claptrap has any depth or meaning.
31 December 2011 at 12:39 · Richard Clarke ‎ why don’t you say what you eally think rather than shilly-shally around?
31 December 2011 at 15:28 ·Sarah Clarke We spend more but have less?? buy more but enjoy it less?? I don’t know what planet you are living on, but it’s not my world. Plan more – wtf?? accomplish less – are you mad?? low on quality – purleeese – that is your bloody mantra ‘Why pay more?’ says the ad ”For better fucking quality!’ shouts Richard Clarke
31 December 2011 at 16:45 Richard ClarkeHave another rum and coke
31 December 2011 at 17:12 · Sarah Clarkejust seen your recent ‘like’ of Leonard Nimoy hahahahahaha. You’d better be jokinh x
Without entering in to the realm of love and relationships, there are things that happen that do make me feel good :

Top Ten Smiles Inside

  1. Small children skipping along the pavement or the sound of playtime in the school playground
  2. Huge smiles
  3. Babies laughing
  4. Human interaction when you don’t expect it. Like making eye contact on the tube. Or seeing someone offer their seat
  5. The Wooton Bassett spontaneous tributes to fallen soldiers.
  6. Seeing a parent enjoying their child or children
  7. Great customer service
  8. Random compliments
  9. Finding a tenner in a pocket you haven’t used for ages.
  10. Sitting outside for a boozy lunch
3 Responses to “Lifting the heart”

  1. georgiemcclarke Says:

    I don’t get how/why you are writing and posting these from the Lake District?! Hahahahaha that thread with Dad makes me laugh every time x


    • haha Georgie I became a bit of a techxpert – I wrote all these before I left for the lakes and scheduled for them to post each day. Wasn’t sure if it would work, but yay! it has.

      • PAUL Says:

        Sarah, I fear we may be losing you to some parallel cyber-world, soon to be communicating with everyone via some ‘Max Headroom–style’ hologram. Hilarious stuff! Keeps me entertained during drizzle-soaked interludes.


No need to fill in your details - just let me know what you think

