Home

Learning from mistakes is…

April 20, 2012

Learning from mistakes is less painful if they are someone else’s

We played a game a few weeks ago that asks you to guess your fellow players’ responses. Apart from guessing my families answers incorrectly more often than not, one of my questions got me thinking. It asked which of the following statements do you wish you’d known when you were younger, but the three statements were not actually things that I had only learned with age – I felt they were things I’d grasped early on. But it did set me thinking about my

Top Ten Things I wish I’d Known When I Was Young

  1. Youth makes you beautiful. You will realise this only when you look back twenty years later and wish you still looked like that.
  2. Never worry about being overdressed. Wear whatever you choose with joy.
  3. Enjoy the different things you can do with your hair whilst you have it and the looks to get away with it.
  4. It is always easy to find excuses not to do things, but it will be what you don’t do that you regret rather than what you do.
  5. You don’t have to get married to buy a nice dress and have a big party
  6. There is a difference between being respected and being liked. You do not have to be liked by everybody at work.
  7. Very few decisions are actually irreversible.
  8. Don’t put yourself so far out for someone that you will resent them for it
  9. If your friends don’t like your partner, there’s probably a valid reason
  10. It is OK to say no. It is OK to say yes. Just make sure you are clear what the question is.
No need to fill in your details - just let me know what you think

